Syria, the age of Trump and children

A co-worker of mine, Mike Hannahan, recently launched a blog called “Living in the Era of Trump” which has become a great source of information for me about the world since Donald Trump became president.

Mike, a faculty member at the UMass Amherst Political Science department) sprinkles his thoughts and interpretations of not only what politicians say and do but how the media choose to cover the same politicians.  The blog does a great job in providing me with information that I wouldn’t get with my otherwise narrow range of media sources. Plus, it’s an excuse to read his blog during my work day since he’s a co-worker.

With the recent chemical attack in Syria and the retaliatory airstrikes by the U.S., Mike published a link to series of reactions to the airstrikes from fellows at the Brookings Institution.

The plight of children in Syria has been the most penetrating to me. Not so much Syrian children as much as those children who are innocent victims of the actions of adults who find it necessary to exercise their might.

Admittedly, I’ve not been able to stay up to date with everything going on with multi-year war still going on in Syria. However, after seeing video of children affected by the chemical attack, other footage of the earlier Aleppo bombings (more injured children) and the coincidence of reading both “A Thousand Splendid Suns” and “The Mountains Echoed” by Khaled Hosseini I’ve been consuming lots of scenes (real and fictitious) with children in peril.

It left me in mood where I was more sensitive others’ suffering, specifically that of kids. It was no wonder then that when my 9 year old daughter slipped and fell in our kitchen recently and started to cry I picked her up and held her. As she sobbed and nearly started sobbing myself. Not just for her but for all kids in pain everywhere.

Leave a Reply

